A new album from the late King Louie Bankston—the Harahan, Louisiana, garage rock mainstay who died in 2022—has been announced. Goner Records will release Harahan Fats on November 10. The lead single, “Trinkets,” comes with a memoriam video directed by Art Boonparn. The song was originally recorded by the late Jay Reatard. Listen to it below.

“‘Trinkets’ is a song I found when going through Jay’s home studio hard-drive after he passed in 2010,” Goner co-owner Zac Ives said in a statement. “It is an amazing song, but Louie was always hung up on Harlan [T. Bobo] playing a ‘bad note’ at one point and he didn’t want to release it without fixing it. It became a running joke over the years between us, and it’s fitting that it’s finally seeing the light of day.”

Harahan Fats’ 22 songs were largely recorded over the span of four years, ending in October 2021. Bankston envisioned it as a double cassette release, and, in addition to the standard LP edition, Goner is putting out the dual cassettes as the “Diretor’s Cut” version with bonus tracks.

Among his many bands, Bankston was a member of the Exploding Hearts, whose classic Guitar Romantic was recently reissued by Third Man Records. The expanded reissue featured original Bankston mixes of the songs.

Harahan Fats:

01 (Theme From) Crawzilla
02 Gentilly Woman
03 Coke-a-Cola Cowboy
04 Places Like This
05 Trinkets
06 Pawn Shop Row
07 Rehab Legend
08 Gone Too Far
09 Air Conditioning, Cold Drinks, Pussy & Pickles
10 Wasted at Work
11 Harahan Boogie Man
12 Down & Out
13 Gin Road Ramble
14 When God Dips His Pen
15 Writing the Same Song Over Again

King Louie Bankston Harahan Fats

Source: pitchfork.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Watch the official trailer for WHAM, in cinemas 27th June, on Netflix 5th July

WHAM! will be in UK cinemas for one night only on 27th…

Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy Announces Book Tour for World Within a Song

Jeff Tweedy is heading out on a book tour of World Within…

Jason Aldean defends 'violent' lyrics and music video for Try That In A Small Town

Jason Aldean has defended his song ‘Try That In A Small Town’…

The Alchemist Releases New EP With Earl Sweatshirt, billy woods, MIKE, and More: Listen

The Alchemist has released his new Flying High EP. The first part…