Jilian Medford’s project Ian Sweet has announced a new album called Sucker. It’s due out November 3 via Polyvinyl. She also shared a video for its first single “Your Spit,” featuring cameos from Saturday Night Live cast members Sarah Sherman and Martin Herlihy, as well as members of Nation of Language. Check out Sucker’s album art and full track list, as well as the Brittany Reeber-directed video for “Your Spit” below.

Of the new song, Medford said in a statement: “‘Your Spit’ is about the joy and fear that surrounds new relationships. The excitement that’s also accompanied by doubt. But I’d be lying if I didn’t say the song is just mostly about making out.”

Medford started working on Sucker in the fall of 2022 at an artist residency at The Outlier
Inn in Los Angeles. She then worked on the demos with co-producers Alex Craig and Strange Ranger’s Isaac Eiger, as well as mixing engineer Al Carlson. Of the process, she said: “I was feeling very stuck in L.A. and was trying to get comfortable with spending more time alone again. I went there not knowing exactly what I wanted to do or make, but I knew I wanted to explore and get out of my comfort zone. I forced myself to make things on the spot, in the moment and not overthink it too much.”

Sucker features the song “Fight,” which appeared on the Star Stuff EP released last year. Ian Sweet’s last LP was 2021’s Show Me How You Disappear.


01 Bloody Knees
02 Smoking Again
03 Emergency Contact
04 Sucker
05 Comeback
06 Your Spit
07 Clean
08 Fight
09 Slowdance
10 Hard

The album artwork for Ian Sweets Sucker.

The album artwork for Ian Sweet’s Sucker

Source: pitchfork.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Beyoncé cancels Pittsburgh concert

Beyoncé has cancelled her upcoming show in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania due to “logistics…

Hailee Steinfeld 'runs' to phone when Taylor Swift calls

Hailee Steinfeld “runs to the phone” whenever her pal Taylor Swift calls.…

Beverly Glenn-Copeland Announces Vinyl Reissues, Shares New Song “Harbour (Song for Elizabeth)”: Listen

Beverly Glenn-Copeland has shared a new song from his upcoming LP, The…

Casanova Sentenced to More Than 15 Years in Federal Prison

After pleading guilty last year to federal racketeering charges, Casanova has been…