Explosions in the Sky have announced their first studio album since 2016’s The Wilderness. The new album, End, is out September 15 (via Temporary Residence Ltd.). They’ve shared album opener “Ten Billion People” with the news. Check it out with End’s tracklist below.

End, despite its title, is not the final Explosions in the Sky album, a press release assures. The LP follows the band’s soundtrack album for the PBS documentary Big Bend: The Wild Frontier of Texas.

“Our starting point was the concept of an ending—death, or the end of a friendship or relationship,” Explosions in the Sky said of End in a press statement. “Every song comes from a story, or an idea one of us has had that we’ve all expanded on and made its own world. Maybe it’s our nature, but we kept feeling that the album title was ultimately open to a lot more interpretation—the end of a thing or a time can mean a stop, but it can also mean a beginning, and what happens after one thing ends might pale in comparison to what it becomes next.”

Explosions in the Sky head out on tour next month. The band will stay on the road through the fall.


01 Ten Billion People
02 Moving On
03 Loved Ones
04 Peace or Quiet
05 All Mountains
06 The Fight
07 It’s Never Going to Stop

Explosions in the Sky End

Source: pitchfork.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Chrissy Teigen and John Legend welcome baby number four

Chrissy Teigen announced she and John Legend have welcomed baby number four…

Sia reveals she is on the autism spectrum

Sia has revealed that she is on the autism spectrum. During an…

J Hus, Taylor Swift & Rita Ora jostling in three-way race for Number 1 album

J Hus leads a three-way race for this week’s Official Number 1…

Thirty Seconds To Mars wanted to push boundaries with new album

Thirty Seconds To Mars wanted to try things they’ve never done before…